Here is described how to administer responsibility roles and how they function.
Responsibility roles are used to designate one or more users as responsible for a node. Other users can see whom to contact with any questions, and the responsible individuals can receive a clear list of their responsibilities in the form of reminders on the homepage and through email notifications.
It's possible to have multiple responsibility roles for the same node; for example, a KPI node can have a primary responsible role and a reporting responsible role.
It's also possible to assign multiple users to the same responsibility role, for example, if two users are to be designated as responsible for an activity node. The choice of which user receives each specific responsibility role is made for each individual node. For information about reminders associated with responsibility roles, see To-Do list
Note: If a user is assigned as responsible for a node, they will always receive permissions beyond their user group permissions. The user may then have the opportunity to comment and report measurements on a node within a unit for which they do not have permission according to their user group. What the user is allowed to do on this unit is based on the settings for the responsibility role.
Overview of Responsibility Roles
You can find responsibility roles in the administration section under "Organization Settings" at the top, where you will be directed to a landing page.
The blue flag in the first column indicates the default responsibility role. This means that this responsibility role will always be available for all node types when you create a new scorecard.
Under the "Columns" section, you can see which scorecard columns the responsibility role is applied to.
You can specify who should be automatically added as responsible for new nodes for each unit. This is referred to as the "default responsible for nodes." Please refer to the Organization för mer section for more information.
If there's no default responsible defined, the person creating the node will automatically be set as responsible across all units for the default role, even when pushing down to underlying units. For other responsibility roles, no one will be assigned as responsible when the node is created.
It's not possible to make the Responsibility Role a mandatory field. Instead, utilize Unit Responsibility to automatically assign a responsible person for new nodes.
Add a new responsibility role.
Click on "Add" to create a new responsibility role.
Provide a name - make it descriptive, for example, "activity responsible." Please also fill in a help text. This will be displayed when the user clicks on the question mark that appears when you hover over a field in a node.
Responsibles should be included when the node is copied.
The setting implies that responsibles from the top level will be copied to new units if they are added to a consolidation chain. The name of the responsible will also be copied if you use the "Save As..." function to create a new node with a new name on the same unit.
Note: If you add a responsible after the node has been copied, the responsible will not be included in the copy.
Exception: If the checkbox is not selected when creating a new node, and the node is immediately assigned a responsible and consolidated to underlying units, the responsible will be included in the copy to underlying units.
Enable the ability to sign with the role.
This allows a logged-in user with the authority to modify the node to sign with the responsibility role. This can be used as a verification that the user approves the node.
After the user clicks the "Sign" button, the node will appear as signed by [Name] and the date of signing. It's possible to remove a signature afterward.
You can display the signature in views and report sections using the node property "Signature."
Responsibles should be unit-specific. Specifies whether responsibles should be added for each unit. The responsibles will then be locally responsible for that specific unit.
Here, for each node type, the responsibility that the user in the responsibility role should have is selected. There are different options available for each node type as they are reported in different ways. Responsibility is crucial for what appears on the to-do list and consequently for the reminders that are sent.
The significance of the various responsibilities is described below. For all responsibilities, a card appears on the user's to-do list a certain number of days before the deadline - the specific number of days depends on the settings for the to-do list.
For Text/Activity/KPI nodes:
You are responsible for and have the permission to comment, for example, on the outcome of the KPI or the result of an activity or text node.
Comment during follow-up period.
You are responsible for commenting on the activity during the respective follow-up period. The follow-up period is determined based on the periodicity of the activity column and any deadline settings. For instance, an activity column with a quarterly periodicity would mean that the user should comment on the activity by March 31st, July 31st, September 30th, and December 31st.
Comment at reconciliation date.
You are responsible for commenting on the activity on the activity's reconciliation date.
You have the responsibility and permissions to change/update whether an activity is ongoing, on hold, or completed, etc.
Report Outcome/Forecast/Goal/Annual Goal.
This means you are responsible and have the permission to report values in the selected data columns.
In the settings for each measurement (KPI), the columns to be used for Outcome, Forecast, Goal, and Annual Goal are specified. For example, if you set "Quantity" as the Outcome column, a user with the responsibility to "Report Outcome" will be able to report values in the "Quantity" data column.
Allowing those responsible to report data across all measurement (KPI) columns provides users without permission to report on the current unit the authority to report in other measurement columns too.
If the "Specific reporting permission required" is enabled for a column, none of the aforementioned settings for measurement columns apply.
Make visible for nodes in the following columns.
Here, you specify in which Scorecard columns the Responsibility Role should appear. You can select all Scorecard columns for all Scorecards based on node type via "Select All": Text, Measurement, and Activity.
When you're done, click the "Save" button. The new responsibility role will then appear in the list of Responsibility Roles.
Edit and delete a responsibility role.
Click on the "Wrench" icon if you want to edit a responsibility role.
Refer to Add a new responsibility role for a description of the different settings
A change in a responsibility role affects all the scorecards in which it is active.
If a responsibility role is deactivated for a scorecard where responsible users are already assigned, those users will still remain as responsible in the background. However, the nodes will not appear on their homepage, and their names will no longer be displayed on the node.
If the responsibility role is reactivated for the scorecard, those who were previously responsible will be reinstated.
With the "Change Responsible" function, you can transfer the responsibility for all nodes that a specific user is responsible for to another user. This also applies to reports where the user is set as a reporter.
Choose the responsible user you want to remove from the dropdown list "Change responsible/reporter from," then select the new responsible user from the dropdown list "Change responsible/reporter to." Afterward, check the checkboxes for the type(s) of node(s) this applies to: text, KPI, activity, and/or reports. Confirm by clicking the "Save" button.
Remove a responsibility role.
Do you want to remove the responsibility role from a specific scorecard column or from all scorecards?
Deactivate a responsibility role in one or several scorecards:
Refer to the "Edit" section above.
Remove the entire responsibility role from all scorecards.
All responsibles for the responsibility role will be permanently removed, and it won't be possible to restore the responsibility role or the responsibles again.
Warning: It is not possible to restore the responsibility role or the responsibles again after removal.
If this is what you intend to do, click on the "trash bin" icon to the right of the responsibility role and confirm the removal.